Welcome! To use this support forum, please Login or Join Today!

Installation of Element Theme

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 14

Joined 2013-04-11

PM

Hi Casey,

I just downloaded the Element theme and have installed both the parent and child into wp.  I have very little knowledge of HTML, and will most likely just use the template features for layout, widgets, etc.  However, I would like to customize the header to include my logo and customize the header color to match the logo background color.  I can’t really give you an example to see, but what I mean is.. my logo is white on a gray/brown background.  I want to change the color of the header field (all the way across) to match the background color in my logo, and then place my logo in the center of the header.

How easy is it to make the header changes?  Should I activate the parent or child theme?  When I view the “parent” live demo within wp, there is more structure to build from.  When I view the “child” live demo, it’s very plain and stripped down.

Please let me know which theme (parent/child) to activate, and how to make the header changes.

Thank you,
Jeff

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

Hi Jeff,

You should activate the child theme and then navigate to Appearance → Theme Options.

What you’ll want to do is upload your header background image under the “Background” tab. Make sure it’s a seamless image pattern and set it to Repeat-Horizontally, Top Center and Scroll Normally.

Next, under the “Header” tab, upload your header image with the same background texture, set the size and and you should be good.

If you load one of the presets, this should already be done for you and you can just replace the image. Let me know if you need any other help. If you have an image you can post of your desired end result, perhaps I could walk you through it.

{name}
Rank

Joined 2013-04-11

PM

Thanks Casey,