Welcome! To use this support forum, please Login or Join Today!

   

Slider not working

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Hi,

I just installed Orion today and am having issues getting pics to show up in my slider.

http://www.valleymjcouncil.org

Blair

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

Hi, It doesn’t look like any slides are assigned to that slideshow. Can you verify?
If you’d like to PM me with a temporary wp-admin account I’ll be glad to look into it for you.

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Casey, you helped me fix this last time…but I don’t know how you fixed it. I’m having the exact same issue trying to set up a new site, aspenpolice.com/safestreets - could you walk me through how you fixed this?

Thanks
Blair

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

First, create a few “slides” and assign them to a “slideshow”:
http://www.simplethemes.com/tutorials/help/creating-slideshows

Then, you can insert slideshows within content or in the featured slider Widget:

See “Slider Setup” here:
http://www.simplethemes.com/theme-docs/orion-documentation#152

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Hi Casey - these are the original directions I followed. To no avail. This is the same problem I had last time…not sure what my deal is?!

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

Are you referring to valleymjcouncil.org or another site? It looks like it’s working on my end. If you’re referring to another site, can you share that link please?

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Yes, sorry. It’s aspenpolice.com/safestreets - sorry about that.

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

No problem. If my memory serves me correctly, the last time I just had to assign the slides to the slideshow. Can you verify that your slides are assigned to the slideshow that you’re displaying?

http://www.screencast.com/t/SDnphpXn

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Yes, they are assigned to a slideshow.

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

That’s very strange. There are no JS errors and the markup is rendering with empty slides. Can you PM me with a temporary login so I can take a look?

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Ok, just PM’d ya.

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

The account you created for me doesn’t allow me to do anything but view my own profile.Insufficient Priveledges

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

My apologizes, just changed that. Sorry!

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

How did you do that? Am I just completely missing a step?

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

You should be good to go. It was a bug with hyphens the slideshow slug.

The slideshow slug should be a single word with no spaces or special characters. The reason is for CSS styling and javascript targeting. For example: “homepageslideshow” is valid, but not “home-page-slideshow”.

I’ve added a regex to automatically strip that stuff out, so if you’d like to re-download the theme and replace /orion/lib/functions/content_functions.php, then you won’t be plagued by this in the future.

Thanks for your patience.

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 8

Joined 2014-02-06

PM

 

Thank you…that’s all I needed! It automatically assigned that name, but now I know better. Thanks again.