Welcome! To use this support forum, please Login or Join Today!

You are here → Home :: Forum Home :: General WordPress :: Plugins Discussion :: Thread

   

Simple shortcodes conflict - Visual Editor not loading

{name}
RankRank

Total Posts: 32

Joined 2011-09-10

PM

 
My visual has not worked for quite some time. I can't seem to pinpoint the problem. Here is the error code I am getting when I hit f12 while editing a post:

Failed to load resourcethe server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
wp-tinymce.php:

Failed to load
http://envirovue.com/blog/wp-content/themes/element/lib/editor/tinymceSlideshow/editor_plugin_mce_v4.js
http://envirovue.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/smpl-shortcodes/includes/admin/generator/editor_plugin_mce_v4.php?wp-mce-4205-20150910 

Failed to load resourcethe server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
wp-tinymce.php:

Failed to load
http://envirovue.com/blog/wp-content/plugins/smpl-shortcodes/includes/admin/generator/editor_plugin_mce_v4.php

http://envirovue.com/blog/wp-content/themes/element/lib/editor/tinymceContent/editor_plugin_mce_v4.js?wp-mce-4205-20150910 

Failed to load resourcethe server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)
wp-tinymce.php:

Failed to load
http://envirovue.com/blog/wp-content/themes/element/lib/editor/tinymceContent/editor_plugin_mce_v4.js 
{name}
RankRank

Total Posts: 32

Joined 2011-09-10

PM

 
I am using the element theme. It happens in both Microsoft Edge and Chrome.
{name}
RankRank

Total Posts: 32

Joined 2011-09-10

PM

 
I think there was a corrupt file somewhere. I rebuilt the site in another folder. Deleted the existing. Set everything back over via FTP and all is good now. I suspect a caching plug in may have corrupted some files somewhere.
{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2016-04-09

PM

 
I'm also having the same problem - but with Lightfast.

I've deactivated all my plugins and reinstated them one-by-one to see which one was causing the problem and it's Simple Shortcodes.

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2016-04-09

PM

 
Okay - this is a warning to Plesk users.

I've resolved the problem of a blank Visual tab in the post editor by disabling Plesk's protection of the wp-content folder in the Check Wordpress Security pop-up.

I'm afraid it looks as if Simple Shortcodes isn't compatible with Plesk's Wordpress security hardening.
{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 
Thanks for letting me know. What is your hosting vendor?
Do you happen to know of any documentation for the security hardening feature?

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2016-04-09

PM

 
Hi - I don't believe this is a specific host issue - it's going to be a problem on any platform using Plesk.

Here's the documentation for the features concerned:

http://download1.parallels.com/Plesk/PP12/12.0/Doc/en-US/online/plesk-administrator-guide/index.htm?fileName=73563.htm

This is probably the most relevant part of that page:
The wp-content folder. The wp-content directory may contain insecure PHP files that can be used to damage your site. After WordPress installation, PHP files can be executed from the wp-content directory. The security check verifies that the execution of PHP files in the wp-content directory is forbidden.


There is a PHP script that is called via Javascript from the editor - I believe that Plesk is preventing direct calls to PHP scripts within the wp-content folder when that check is enabled.
{name}
RankRank

Total Posts: 33

Joined 2012-09-21

PM

 
Hi,

I too am having this problem. I'm using Synapse theme.

In Firefox when I do Tools > Web Developer > Web Console, on the .JS tab it says:
"Failed to load: [my url]/wp-content/plugins/smpl-shortcodes/includes/admin/generator/editor_plugin_mce_v4.php" tinymce.min.js:4:9803

I tried to deactivate the plug-in but it won't stick, it keeps stuck in active mode.

What is the best way to remove this plugin and reinstall a fresh version? Or is there another issue should try to troubleshoot?

Thanks!
{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 
Hi, I've pushed up an update v.1.0.20. Could you download the latest and let me know if this fixed the issue?
{name}
RankRank

Total Posts: 33

Joined 2012-09-21

PM

 
Your update fixed the problem! I can see the visual editor again. Thanks!