Welcome! To use this support forum, please Login or Join Today!

   

Widget Code

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

I am trying to install a widget onto my site but it does not seem to be working. Maybe I saved the flash or graphics files in the wrong place, added it wrong to the widget or put the wrong link in the code? If you could take a look that would be great. Thanks

Here is a link to the their instructions: http://www.remodeling.hw.net/facts-and-figures/cost-vs-value-report/using-the-cost-vs-value-2010-widget.aspx

I pasted the code into a “text” widget and add it to “Bottom1” . I see the title “Cost vs. Value 2010"on the bottom of my pages but just a white box where the widget should be. Here is the code as I updated it:

[/code]<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" width="300" height="250" id="movie" align="">
<
param name="movie" value="http://seamlessremodeling.com/fw1.swf" />
<!--
[if !IE]> <-->
<
object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf" width="300" height="250">
</
object>
<!--> <!
[endif]-->
</
object>
[code] 

I have the xml and graphics sub-directories set-up as per below:

http://seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/graphics/logo.png

http://seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/xml/custom.xml

 

 

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

It looks like the path to your sources may be incorrect:

This folder:
http://seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf

..should be this file:
http://seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/fw1.swf

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Good catch. Now have an image which looks like the flash part but no logo in the top left corner or xml function when you click on the widget. See bottom of page: http://www.seamlessremodeling.com

Did I set everything up right? Do you see anything else wrong here?

Note I used the same path in both parts of the code where they ask for

Here is are the files I have setup in the fw1.swf directory:

http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/graphics/logo.png
http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/graphics/thumbs.db

http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/xml/custom.xml

http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/fw1.html
http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/fw1.swf

Updated Code:

[/code]
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" width="300" height="250" id="movie" align="">
<
param name="movie" value="http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/fw1.swf" />
<!--
[if !IE]> <-->
<
object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/wp-content/plugins/fw1.swf/fw1.swf" width="300" height="250">
</
object>
<!--> <!
[endif]-->
</
object>
[code] 

 

 

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

First of all, I would change the name of the folder. The period in the folder may be interpreted as a file extension. In fact, I’d move it into the domain root if it’s not actually a WP plugin. The plugins folder is reserved for this.

It seems that the xml data may be seeking a relative path from the domain e.g; looking for the XML in the root directory of the given URL. You might try moving the swf, xml, and graphics folder to the domain root.

So in effect, you should have the files at:
http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/xml/custom.xml
http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/graphics/logo.png
http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/fw1.swf

Then update your widget’s embed code to read http://www.seamlessremodeling.com/fw1.swf

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Bringing this back to the root worked. Thanks!