Welcome! To use this support forum, please Login or Join Today!

   

Header Ad not showing

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 10

Joined 2011-11-10

PM

 

Uploaded the Presstige theme again thinking that might fix it.  No luck.  I can go directly to the sample graphic for the header ad and it shows.  I just can’t see it in the header on the theme.

http://www.webmaniacsmarketing.com/wp-content/themes/presstige/images/common/468x60.png

I have the boxed checked in the Presstige Options menu for the header ad to show.

I must be missing something simple…  Any ideas on what I can check?

The website is here

Thanks!
Eric

Image Attachments

Presstige.jpg

Click thumbnail to see full-size image

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 10

Joined 2011-11-10

PM

 

Tested between FF and IE and it looks like it could be a browser issue?  I know IE in the past had issues with CSS so I don’t know if the newer ones are better since I mainly use Firefox.

I took a look at one of your customer showcase sites that uses Presstige and it shows normal in IE and not at all in FF.

Would it help if I widgetized the header area on the right side?  I saw a post here in the forum that explains how to do that… not sure if that is different from how the header ad is being displayed currently?

I’ll post my site with IE and FF here and make another post with the showcase site so you can see what I’m talking about.  The yellow circle on the IE pic is where the header ad is displaying partially.

Thanks,
Eric

Image Attachments

IE8.jpgFirefox3.jpg

Click thumbnail to see full-size image

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 10

Joined 2011-11-10

PM

 

Here is the showcase Presstige site:

http://davidlupberger.com/

Image Attachments

Dave-Firefox3.jpgDave-IE8.jpg

Click thumbnail to see full-size image

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

Your theme is renamed to “presstige1” for some reason, so the image is located at:
http://www.webmaniacsmarketing.com/wp-content/themes/presstige1/images/common/468x60.png

You may want to rename the folder to “presstige” because there are missing references to other sources. Once you correct that, it looks like you’ll still need to change some custom CSS because you’re using a text-based logo.

Open style5.css or go to Appearance → Editor → style5.css and find:

/* Header Ad 468 x 60 */

#headerad {
   position: relative;
   top: 0px;
   left: -250px;
   display: block;
   width: 468px;
   height: 60px;
   text-align: center;
   text-shadow: #e0c594 1px 1px 0;
   color: #060606;
   float: right;
   line-height: 60px;
   font-size: 12px;
   font-weight: bold;
   margin: 0px 0px 8px 0px;
}


change to:

/* Header Ad 468 x 60 */

#headerad {
   position: absolute;
   top: 11px;
   left: 368px;
   display: block;
   width: 468px;
   height: 60px;
   text-align: center;
   text-shadow: #2e2e2e 1px 1px 0;
   color: #b4b6b6;
   float: right;
   line-height: 60px;
   font-size: 12px;
   font-weight: bold;
   margin: 0px 0px 8px 0px;
}


As far as the navigation differentiation in IE/FF, this is because the two browsers render fonts a little differently. You may want to change the length of the first menu item to something shorter. You could also reduce the horizontal padding in the theme settings.

The block you see in your screenshot in IE is the “missing image” placeholder. This should go away once you correct the path.

 

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 10

Joined 2011-11-10

PM

 

How the heck do you do that??  Pulling answers out of thin air?? You’re a WP Genius!

OK I changed the Presstige1 back to Presstige.  It must have gotten changed when I re-uploaded the theme twice thru WP…

I shortened my page title…  Fixed that problem!

Added the new css code…  Fixed that problem!

I figured out why the header wasn’t showing in Firefox… I had AdBlockPlus active which blocks ads and popups… and as soon as I turned of AdBlockPlus… Boom there was my header ad!!!

Thanks for all your help even though it was user error on my end :)  I’m trying to learn fast though!!!

If AdblockPlus blocked the header ad on my computer it might also block it on other computers where it’s installed too.  I think I’m going to try following the instructions for adding the widget area in the header. I’ll test the widget area and see if it still shows while AdBlockPlus is still active,,,

Thanks again for your patience and help!!!

Eric

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

This might prevent the adblocker from hiding the image:

Open header.php and find:

<div id="headerad">
   <a href="<?php echo (get_option('sthemes_header_ad_url'));?>"><img src="<?php echo (get_option('sthemes_header_ad_img'));?>" alt="ad"/></a>
  </div>

change to:

<div id="headerad">
   <a href="<?php echo (get_option('sthemes_header_ad_url'));?>"><img src="<?php echo (get_option('sthemes_header_ad_img'));?>" alt=""/></a>
  </div>
{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Casey - I am looking to build my second site with Presstige style2. I like the idea of using a single header banner like the new one on the showcase site http://davidlupberger.com/

I want to put “logo left,  tagline center & call 123-4567 for a free estimate right” all in one banner. Need to get specs right to pass to my designer and detail for theme updates so I can upload it properly.

I read through all the header related posts but I want to make sure I am capturing everything. Below are a few questions that came to mind. Please summarize all the steps to do this.
1) What is the banner px width there?
2) Is the banner height about 160px?
3) Did the banner creator grey out the side edges or is this done in the theme editor?
4) Please detail changes if any that I need to make to the stylesheet
5) Using this approach do I disregard the “Ads & Scripts under Header Banner Ad” and do this under “Header and Navigation Options under Layout and Appearance” by loading my banner png into logo.png?
6) Where do I handle the SEO for this?
7) Please detail anything I missed ....

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

Hi.

1) What is the banner px width there?
2) Is the banner height about 160px?

The header can be any height. Obviously you don’t want it too tall so your users won’t have to scroll so much. It will vary depending on the orientation of your logo. The width should be 940px to accommodate the full width. The source files are included if it makes things any easier for your designer.

3) Did the banner creator grey out the side edges or is this done in the theme editor?

Yes, I believe that is part of the overall graphic image done in an image editor.

4) Please detail changes if any that I need to make to the stylesheet

You should be able to set your width/height right in the theme editor. I would suggest uploading and replacing wp-content/themes/presstige/style2/logo.png. There is an upload method, but replacing the image is cleaner and probably more search engine friendly as it does not use inline styles.

5) Using this approach do I disregard the “Ads & Scripts under Header Banner Ad” and do this under “Header and Navigation Options under Layout and Appearance” by loading my banner png into logo.png?

Yes and No. You’d still use the header/logo image for your header. It would just be set to full width (940px). Regarding the header ad position, the advertisement banner would no longer work “out of the box”. You can still use it, though. It just depends on your header height. Once you get your site online, I may be able to help you make the changes necessary to continue using it using absolute positioning. If so, you’d want to leave adequate space devoid of any important text in the header graphic image in order to accommodate the banner as an overlying element.

6) Where do I handle the SEO for this?

That’s a very broad question. The theme is optimized for the basics such as reduced page queries, semantic H1 logo/title headings. I’d recommend using a good plugin like All in One or Yoast WP SEO. The rest is really up to you and how much time/money you spend on marketing and getting traffic to your site.

Hope this helps.

 

 

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Casey - doubling back on #5

I have my 940x120 header banner in place and I left empty space in the middle for the 468x60. 
http://www.windowsolutionsct dot com

I designed a small banner add for the 468x60 space and enabled this option in the theme options. I also uploaded this banner to: wp-content/prestige.images/common/468x60.png

Note my banner is actually 468x80 but the visible, designed part is 404x65 and the rest is transparent. If I lose the bottom 5px that is not an issue. I attached the banner for your reference.

Please advise how I can use my banner in the 468x60 space as an overlay element?

Image Attachments

468x80.png

Click thumbnail to see full-size image

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

It’s difficult to say without being able to see the live site. In your CSS, you’ll see a rule that looks like this:

#headerad {
 position: absolute;
 top: 12px;
 right: 5px;
 display: block;
 width: 468px;
 height: 60px;
 text-align: center;
 text-shadow: #e0c594 1px 1px 0;
 font: bold 12px/60px "Helvetica Neue", Helvetica, Arial, Geneva, sans-serif;
 color: #060606;
}

You’ll want to change these values:

height: 60px;
to
height: 80px;

and to position it correctly:

top: 12px;
right: 5px;

may need negative placement e.g; top:-20px.

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Casey -  is live for viewing:  http://www.windowsolutionsct dot com

You’ll see my 940x120 (attached) header is on the site. As per your response last week in #5 I now want to overlay the small banner ad in the space I left blank -  between logo left/window right and above center tagline.

Right now I have the 468x60 option enabled but my header add covers it. How can I overlay so I can have both, header ad under and 468x80 overlaid as an element in space I left blank on header banner.

Image Attachments

A.png

Click thumbnail to see full-size image

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Casey - please have a look at post#7 and your response to #5 there and advise based on the comments in my last posts. Thanks

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

Ok, all you need to do is open style2.css and find the block of CSS beginning with /* Header Ad 468 x 60 */ and replace with:

/* Header Ad 468 x 60 */

#headerad {
   position: relative;
   top: 5px;
   left: -330px;
   display: block;
   width: 468px;
   height: 60px;
   text-align: center;
   text-shadow: #e0c594 1px 1px 0;
   color: #060606;
   float: right;
   line-height: 60px;
   font-size: 12px;
   font-weight: bold;
   margin: 0px 0px 8px 0px;
   z-index: 150;
}

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Getting closer…

Copied code to stylesheet and with .png banner saw nothing in that space. Then saved as .jpg and I see “ad” underlined and if I click it takes me to the destination url but I cannot see the ad. Is there something else I need to do?

When you have a moment could you take a look and the top of the home page and advise. Thanks

{name}
Rank

Total Posts: 17

Joined 2011-09-24

PM

 

Casey, this is still unresolved, please see my last note above and let me know what you think.

{name}
RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3667

Joined 2011-04-27

PM

 

It looks like your file name has spaces in it with camel-case. Try renaming the image from:

wp-content/uploads/2012/04/Project Pricing 468x80.jpg

to something without spaces and lower-case:

wp-content/uploads/2012/04/project-pricing-20468x80.jpg

and then update the theme options with the new image name.

Also, to rule out any ad blockers, let’s go ahead and change that “ad” text in header.php (Appearance → Editor → header.php) by changing:

alt="ad"

to:

alt="Window Solutions Plus"